Aller au contenu principal
Data & usage

How many GB per month for your usage?

The Belgian mobile customer uses 11.9 GB a month and usually pays for four times more. The volume you actually need, the price per gigabyte, and what the contract charges once the allowance is empty.

ByFabrice D.7 min read

Eleven point nine gigabytes a month. That is the average consumption of a Belgian mobile customer in 2025, as measured by the regulator. Most plans sold today contain four to five times more, and you pay for them for twenty-four months.

How much data does a Belgian use on average?

11.9 GB a month in 2025, against 3.9 GB five years earlier.

The figure comes from the BIPT, which reports mobile data consumption more than tripling in five years. The same publication notes that by the end of 2025, nearly eight postpaid customers out of ten had more than 10 GB included in their plan, against six out of ten two years earlier.

Put the two figures side by side and the gap is obvious. Consumption is rising, the allowances sold are rising faster, and adding gigabytes has replaced cutting prices. It is a convenient way to enrich an offer without touching the amount billed, and I sold enough plans behind a counter in Namur to know that a customer told "we're giving you 100 GB" almost never asks how many they actually use.

How many GB do you need for your real usage?

Between 5 and 20 GB for the vast majority of lines, and more than that only if you watch video over 4G or 5G every day.

Here are the orders of magnitude, per hour of use, at the applications' default settings.

UsageConsumption per hourOne hour a day, over a month
Web browsing and messaging60 MB1.8 GB
Turn-by-turn navigation5 MB0.15 GB
Music streaming, standard quality70 MB2.1 GB
Music streaming, high quality150 MB4.5 GB
Social media with video autoplay600 MB18 GB
Video at 480p0.7 GB21 GB
Video at 720p1.5 GB45 GB
Video at 1080p3 GB90 GB
Video at 4K7 GB210 GB
Video calls1 GB30 GB

Resolution is the only variable that really matters. Moving a video app from 1080p to 480p divides consumption by four, with nothing else changed, and on a six-inch screen in a train the quality difference is debatable.

Where do you read your last six months of usage?

In your customer account, under consumption or billing history. Every Belgian operator publishes it month by month.

Take the heaviest month, not the average. That is the one that triggers the overage.

At how many GB does unlimited pay off?

Beyond 260 GB a month. Which is to say, never.

The calculation is a single division. On the Belgian grid surveyed on 24 August 2026, the best price per gigabyte on the market is DIGI Belgium's: 60 GB for €9 a month, or €0.15 per gigabyte. An unlimited plan at €39 with BASE only matches that rate at 260 GB used within the month. With Orange Belgium at €40, the threshold sits at 267 GB. With Proximus at €49.99, it climbs to 333 GB, twenty-eight times the Belgian average.

Take it the other way round, the way that speaks to your wallet. A customer using the Belgian average of 11.9 GB and paying €39 for unlimited data is paying €3.28 per gigabyte. The same usage on the 60 GB plan billed at €9 works out at €0.76 per gigabyte. Over twenty-four months, the gap between the two contracts reaches €720, for a volume the €9 plan already covers five times over. With the most expensive incumbent on the grid, the gap widens to €983.76.

What happens when the monthly allowance runs out?

It depends on the contract, and the three possible behaviours do not cost the same at all.

Behaviour set out in the contractCostWhat to do
Throttled speed until the end of the month€0nothing, but check it is written into the specific terms
Data cut off€0switch to Wi-Fi, or buy a one-off data block
Out-of-bundle billingper-megabyte rate, not published consistentlyhave a consumption cap set, in writing, before signing
Automatic data top-upamount per block, charged without fresh approvaldisable the option in your customer account from day one
Unlimited with a fair use clause€0, but throttled beyond an unpublished thresholdask for the numerical threshold and keep it

The third case is the only one that digs into an invoice, and it is the one that kept me busy for three years in the cancellations department of a Belgian virtual operator. A teenager's line tipping into out-of-bundle billing two months running produces an invoice nobody in the house saw coming, because nothing in the contract capped it and the text alert arrives after the threshold is crossed, not before.

A Belgian mobile invoice annotated by hand, showing the data usage breakdown month by month
The heaviest month is read in your customer account, never on the advert.

Is tethering deducted from the same allowance?

Yes. The data a laptop or a tablet uses through tethering comes out of the line's monthly allowance, exactly as if the phone had used it itself.

This is the item that blows allowances apart, because a computer does not behave like a phone: background system updates, automatic backups, videos that start at full resolution because the screen is bigger. A morning of remote work over tethering uses more than a week of browsing on the phone.

Second point, and it is contractual. Some general terms limit tethering on plans sold as unlimited, and some exclude it. That is neither written on the advert nor said at the counter. It is read in the general terms, in the article dealing with reasonable use.

The four lines to have written down before signing on an allowance

They take five minutes to obtain, and they decide the real cost of your next two years.

  • End-of-allowance behaviour, named precisely: throttling, cut-off, or out-of-bundle billing. The three words are not worth the same amount.
  • The out-of-bundle rate per megabyte, and the consumption cap the operator agrees to set on the line.
  • The numerical threshold of the fair use clause if the plan is sold as unlimited. If it is not disclosed, note that the box remains not published.
  • The conditions for moving down an allowance mid-contract. Moving up is always possible; moving down can reopen a commitment period or drop a discount tied to the original plan.

To compare plans on those criteria, the comparison tool puts them side by side and the mobile plan ranking orders them on 24-month cost, handset counted separately. And if the allowance is not your only concern, the article on mobile plans with or without a contract sets out what the contract term changes on the invoice.

One last remark, for readers tempted by a small-allowance plan with no commitment. Mobile Vikings, Scarlet and hey! rent the network of one of the four operators with their own infrastructure on the Belgian market: Proximus, Orange Belgium, Telenet with BASE, and DIGI. The gigabytes you buy therefore travel through the same mast as those of the neighbour paying three times more. What differs is traffic priority when a cell is congested, not the gigabyte itself.

Sources

  • BIPT, publication on mobile data consumption in Belgium, consulted on 29 August 2026.
  • BIPT, national comparison of mobile tariffs, consulted on 29 August 2026.
  • Telecommunications Ombudsman Service, cost-free remedy for consumers in billing disputes, consulted on 29 August 2026.
  • Tariff grids published by Belgian operators, surveyed on 24 August 2026. Items operators do not publish are flagged as not published.
  • Orders of magnitude per usage: default settings of video and audio streaming applications, at constant resolution.

Data & usage comparator

Compare all data & usage side by side.

Compare now →

Frequently asked questions

For browsing, messaging, social media and music, 5 to 20 GB covers the vast majority of lines. The average consumption measured by the BIPT was 11.9 GB a month in 2025. The only figure that counts for you is the one in your customer account over the last six months.

Roughly 0.7 GB at 480p, 1.5 GB at 720p, 3 GB at 1080p and 7 GB at 4K, at the applications' default settings. Resolution is the only variable that really matters: lowering playback quality divides consumption by four.

Beyond 260 GB a month, comparing the price of a €39 unlimited plan with the best price per gigabyte surveyed on the Belgian market on 24 August 2026. With an incumbent at €49.99, the threshold rises to 333 GB. Almost nobody reaches those volumes.

Yes. Data used by a laptop or a tablet connected through tethering comes out of the same monthly allowance. Some general terms limit or exclude tethering on plans sold as unlimited: check the contract, not the advert.

Three behaviours exist depending on the contract: throttled speed until the end of the month, data cut off, or out-of-bundle billing. The third is the only one that costs money, and it is the one to have capped in writing before signing.

It is the clause that allows the operator to throttle the connection beyond a level of use it deems unreasonable, or to exclude certain uses such as prolonged tethering. The numerical threshold is not published by most Belgian operators. Ask for it in writing; if it is not disclosed, treat the box as not published.

Moving up to a larger allowance is almost always possible immediately. Moving down is far less so: the lower plan may carry a fresh commitment period, or drop a discount tied to the original plan. Have both moves priced before you sign.

On data, yes, within the limits of the fair use clause. It covers neither premium-rate numbers, nor calls outside the included zone, nor roaming outside the European Economic Area. Those three items are billed separately whatever the data allowance.

Photo de Fabrice D.

Fabrice D. a vendu des abonnements GSM pendant sept ans derrière le comptoir d’une boutique télécom à Namur, entre 2013 et 2020, puis a passé trois ans au service résiliations d’un opérateur virtuel belge — c’est-à-dire du côté où l’on lit les contrats à voix haute à des clients qui ne les avaient pas lus. Il sait donc exactement comment se construit un « GSM à 1 € » : un crédit de 24 mois posé à côté du forfait, avec son propre solde et ses propres conditions de sortie. Chaque mois, il relève les grilles tarifaires publiées par les opérateurs belges, note la date du relevé, et recalcule ce que chaque formule coûte au bout de deux ans, appareil compris. Ce qui l’agace dans son secteur : les prix d’appel affichés en gros pour douze mois, et l’écart — jamais imprimé nulle part — avec ce qui est facturé le treizième.